My Dinner Challenge

Alright, so it is about time I start practicing what I preach. I LOVE to cook and I LOVE nutrition and I am often pushing for and supporting the idea that people should make their own nutritious balanced meals each night. I know everyone is busy, but it shouldn’t be that hard to throw together a nice meal at the end of the day right? Well last quarter I was thrown for a bit of a loop as I quickly learned the true meaning of the word “busy”. I was guilty of making a peanut butter and jelly for dinner a few times (but don’t worry, I refuse to buy ramen!) I lacked any organization and would grab a few things at the grocery store without any clear idea of the meals I would make. 
Now that I am starting off a new term, fresh from my thanksgiving break, I have the opportunity to get out of my little rut and present myself with a bit of a challenge. My goal is to come back to my apartment and make a nice meal each night. With this comes organization; making a clear menu for the week, creating a really precise grocery list, and prepping and making things ahead of time. I need to prove that I can maintain a busy schedule, and still create nutritious meals each night on a budget and limit waste and PB&J dinners! With this comes the challenge of buying and cooking for 1, which can limit inspiration and motivation. However, I want to prove that whether you are cooking for 1, 2 or twenty, it doesn’t take that much time or effort to put a homemade and nutritious meal on the table each night despite the business that life presents!
Leave a Reply

