First Days

DAY 1 and 2:
So I got home after bible study yesterday at 8:30 and right after I entered the door I got my soup going. I knew that if I didn’t start right away I might just end up grabbing the jar of peanut butter. If you get something started right away and then go about your usual after work/school/etc. routine, it is much easier to come back to the kitchen and finish up. Tonight I made the most simple and delicious soup…butternut squash soup paired with a piece of toast with fresh cut tomatoes and an egg on top! MMMM so good. 
Soup:
Saute some onion and garlic in a bit of oil.
Add butternut squash (I recommend buying it pre-cut…it is definitely worth the convenience!)
add just enough broth to cover (veg or chicken, whatever you have on hand)
simmer until the butternut squash is tender
puree
season with salt and pepper and a dash of nutmeg if desired.
I used about two pounds of butternut squash which was perfect because it made for plenty of leftovers! SO…tonight I had soup again, but this time I added a few dashes of cumin and paired is with a corn tortilla filled with a nice salad. It changed up the soup so I didn’t feel like I was having the same thing again and I still have leftovers that I stuck in the freezer for later on! Perfecto. 
Leave a Reply

