Winter Means Snow

Snow is officially on the ground, which means outside time consists of getting from point A to point B. This means exercise heads back indoors. If you are anything like me, each second seems like an hour when you are on a treadmill, elliptical, stationary bike….you name it. I hate being confined to a small room and literally feeling like a lab rat. Exercise becomes this burden that I have to check off my to do list so that I can feel a little less guilty as I go about my day. When did we make the switch from being active to WORKING OUT? 
This is actually something that I struggle with. I used to run. I got to the point where nothing I did felt like enough unless I killed myself on the treadmill. For a while it was fun but soon it just become something I dreaded. I started to have feet problems again and then I just got fed up. No more. I decided to explore my options and have found some exercises that I really enjoy and I would love to share them with you all and inspire you to be excited about being active again. Lately, I can’t wait to get to the gym to try a new routine or really burn it out!
I will start with walking. My friends Meg and Katie and I have basically sworn off running when we don’t want to because we refuse to torture ourselves just because “everyone else is doing it” (if you love to run or are in the mood…AWESOME, GO FOR IT…more power to you :)). We started meeting up and going for long walks. It is awesome. Not only do you get fresh air, but this is an awesome time to really talk it out as you walk it out (see what I did there ;)) We really get to check in with each other and discuss issues we are really dealing with. GO DO IT!
Alas…again we come to the topic of the snow. Well, fear not because I have learned to love the treadmill by making it work for me, rather than the other way around. Inspired by this girl (check out this blog it is awesome) I have been working to put together some incredible interval treadmill workouts that keep your attention because you are constantly switching things up (and never running…unless you want to). If you think walking is too easy for you, try this out because it is no joke (I am always sweaty faced and huffing and puffing) you will be surprised at how walking can kick your booty.
Here was my routine today:

Here is an awesome website with animated pictures to show you how to do some of these exercises.
After I did this  walk I intended to do some circuit training. My intentions were good and I was off to a good start until I got to the point where I was supposed to do some crunches on an exercise ball. I sat on the ball and proceeded to get into formation when, of course, the ball slipped right out from under me and I landed right on my tail bone. Thankfully no one was around and I was left in peace to roll around like a fool , with my breath taken away from me and no idea whether to panic and call the medics, cry, or just laugh at how ridiculous my life is. Eventually I got my breath back and realized that I wasn’t bleeding and it didn’t seem like anything was broken (except my ego). But this little fluke pretty much ended work out time for me.
Lesson… be careful when using exercise equipment, especially exercise balls.
and
Enjoy walking!

Leave a Reply

