Up To No Good

After a long week of freezing cold weather, major sickness and every possible midterm, project, paper and presentation due, it was time for a long weekend filled with fun and relaxation, no homework allowed.

Thankfully this weekend came with some much needed SUNSHINE!! Finally, some time to soak up some sunshine for my vitamin D intake, go for walks and bike rides, and feel some sense of hope of winter actually eventually ending. 

 It started with some amazing people and deep conversation, which required glasses for thinking. My friend meg and I recently went to an all day summit for Educating Children of Color (more on that later) we were incredibly inspired and passionate to make a change. One of the things that really stuck out at us was when one of the speakers, Marianne Williamson, referenced how we as a society tend to keep things shallow in the hopes of including the most people rather than going deep. I mean think about it, how often do you really go below the surface with people? One lady stood up and mentioned how she had a “Food For Thought” where they got together, ate food and talked about some of the deeper issued. Meg and I decided to take this idea and run with it and on Friday night we had our own Food For Thought. It was amazing. We all talked about different things that we were passionate about and changes we want to see happen. I am SO excited to see where this goes because I have a feeling some amazing things are going to happen.

I think it was friday morning that I turned to Giorgia and told her that I wanted to do something to my hair, either dye the tips or just add in a streak of color. I asked if she would do it with me and she happily agreed so we hopped on the bikes and went and got some hair dye. The color of choice was red. On Saturday the sketchy hair dying commenced. We had to put up all the parts of our hair that we didn’t want dyed which made for quite the fashion statement…

It didn’t come out super strong so we did a second round on Sunday. It is still light and barely noticeable (which I am mildly thankful for) but I like it and I like knowing it is there. Fun and will probably fade away in a few weeks.

One of my favorite parts of the weekend was going to the library and sitting in a study room and get piles of cds and downloading some awesome music. Best. Idea. Ever.

This was followed by some failed attempts at baking. We have tons of pretzels in the cabinet and so Giorgia and I were trying to think of something to do with them. We ended up making this peanut butter pudding thing with a pretzel crust. Good, but needed some adjusting. maybe we will try it again and alter it a bit….We used this lemon pudding recipe and substituted peanut butter for the lemon. Interesting

The weekend final event included a trip to boulder to a tea house where we enjoyed tea and lunch. A wonderful appetizer of flavorful shrimp and white beans, Vanilla nut roobios tea and then a delicious salad of figs, poached pears, walnuts, arugula and the most amazing tea vinaigrette.

So fun, so classy…

Finally, I wrapped up my weekend with a delicious dinner. I had a one bun with pasta sauce some cheddar and parm and a fried egg on top for my own mini pizza with some broccoli and peas on the side. YUM.

Now it’s back to school.

Leave a Reply

