The reason for my inability to stop sleeping over spring break…

The week of projects that came before finals week made me long for a week where I could sit back, relax and study nonstop for tests. I hate studying for test, so this tells you how intense the week was. I think I ended up having 45 billion projects due, and about 360,000 presentations. Or at least that is what it felt like.

On top of some awesome school work, I also ended up in charge of the catering for an event for 150 people. (I said I would make the menu which transformed into me heading up everything) This meant getting the volunteers who would be cooking organized, communicating with DU (where the event was being held) and everyone in charge of the event, planning the menu, getting the budget, doing some MAJOR shopping,

Image

I think everyone was a little confused as to why three young girls were buying so much food. It was a bit scary paying for that bill and loading the car… Image

We started at about 8:30 on Friday morning (well Giorgia and I started with coffee… Starbucks would have to do for a day like today) I got some regular coffee in my cup with my decaf. This was crazy and again tells you the state of mind I was in by that Friday because I NEVER do caffeiene (out of fear I will never sleep again in my life…)

We soon found out that we wouldn’t be able to get into the kitchen on campus that we would be working in until noon, so we got to work at school making tarts. We then delivered all the food to the event. I had to ditch my car which was packed with loads and loads of groceries and borrow my friends car so that I could run over and teach my elective.

Image

I was a bit out of sorts when all the 3rd-5th graders arrived but I explained what was going on that night. They were excited and said they would be more than willing to come back to DU with me and help cook for the event. Sweet…but no. Like never in a million years no. I told them that that would be great, but unfortunately, I just didn’t have room in my car for all of them…After tasting lettuces, making vinaigrete, and then building some delicious salads (twice in a row, both groups did an awesome job) I was back at DU to make lasagnas, check everything was ready, transfer the food and serve.

Image

Image

The menu was as follows…

Rosemary soft rolls with balsamic vinegar and olive oil.

Image

Salad with mixed greens, goat cheese, pomegranates, sugar walnuts and avocado with a champagne vinaigrette.

Image

Vegetarian Option- Butternut Squash Lasagna…my fav from my other fav Giada

Side: Broccoli with parmesan cheese

Image

Main: Chicken Marsala with spaghetti (I would pass on the recipe but this one was all in the hands of the wonderful Julia!)

Image

Dessert: Wonderful Chocolate Tart with HAND whipped cream (no mixer….gotta do whatchya gotta do….)

Image

strawberries and powdered sugar. (This was incredible. Giorgia had made chocolate tarts before so when I asked her questions about the recipe at the grocery store and she replied “oh I don’t know I have never made this particular recipe before, it just looked good on foodgawker” I nearly strangled her. As much as I like to find out the night before we feed 150 people that we will be making a tart we have never made successfully before….BUT alas, it all turned out wonderfully…

Image

Image

It was a crazy night but really fun and exciting. We felt like it was our little baby, which was exciting. I am so thankful for all the help.

Image

I had a LOT of energy at the end of the night. I think I recall running circles around the parking lot…or something like that. I had a hard time sleeping, I knew I shouldn’t have gotten that caffeine. Or maybe it was just all the excitement after plenty of build up. Over at last.

Here is my great grandmother’s recipe for sugar walnuts. Super easy and wonderfully delicious…

Image

Leave a Reply

