Sunshine, Shoes and Supper

I use my computer everywhere; at school, at home, in the airport and in the kitchen. For one of the first times though, I put it on the kitchen sink while making a recipe. When my mom saw this, she quickly removed it but when I opened it up later I was unable to click down the mouse pad. Sad face. This all meant a trip to the mall to chat with the Genius’ at the Mac store.

I got to the mall a bit early and did some shopping. Trust me I am NOT a shopper. I have like a two minute burnout period and once I’m done, I’m done. Period. I will not try on another thing or enter another store once I have hit my limit. But for some reason on this fine day, I entered with a broken computer and an appointment at the apple store and left with new work out clothes, new tops, capris and a new pair of shoes.

Wait…what just happened there?

Well before the appointment I found some thingzzz and put them on hold thinking that I would get back and no longer want them.

I felt like a real genius at my appointment because when the guy opened up my computer he said there was something sticky preventing the mouse from clicking. He asked me if i could think of anything sticky that might have gotten in the track pad and I sat on my stool squirming…suddenly “forgetting” about the muffins I was making yesterday and the lovely laptop that happened to be sitting on the counter during the process. Awkward. But all is well because it is back in business.

Anyways I ended up still wanting everything and then on my way out of the mall I had to walk through the shoe department at Nordstrom and it just so happened I had a gift card soo…..

IMG_1975

I got home and ended up not loving everything and returned it all except the workout clothes (typical Sarah move…I complain about not having clothes and then just purchase sweats and workout clothes.)

I was feeling good and accomplished and felt awesome because of all the extra vitamin D I had been getting (thank you California for your wonderful sunshine.) so I decided to make dinner for the fam bam.

I made a polenta egg bake thing that I really liked!

IMG_0453IMG_0451

IMG_0455 IMG_0459

Polenta Bake:

4 cups water

1 cup polenta

Salt

1 TBSP cream cheese

1/4 cup sliced mushrooms

2 cups arugula

1 tsp olive oil

Goat cheese to taste

Parmesan

Salt and Pepper to taste

Favorite red sauce (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Bring the 4 cups water to a boil. Slowly add in your polenta, stirring constantly until thickened. Cover and allow to cook at medium heat. Meanwhile saute the mushrooms in the olive oil. Add in the arugula and saute quickly to lightly wilt.

Add the cream cheese to the polenta and pour into a baking dish. Make four little holes in the polenta for the eggs. Assemble the mushrooms and arugula on top of the polenta and then add an egg into each hole. Top with goat cheese and sprinkle with parmesan. Bake at 350 for about 20-30 minutes, or until eggs are cooked to your liking. Heat up some red sauce to pour on top if you would like!

A quick, easy and delicious meal. I always forget how simple it is to make polenta and how delicious it is.

Lessons:

Don’t cook near computer

Eat more polenta

Learned any lessons lately?

One response

  1. Pingback: Kale for Days and a Little Preparation | An Apple A Day

Leave a Reply

