In the mood for breakfast

Lately I have been loving breakfast time. I have been craving toast, yogurt, eggs, french toast, oatmeal and all that good stuff all day. Despite all the wonderful breakfast foods out there…lately these two breakfasts have been my absolute favorites. They fill me up and sustain me and are healthy and balanced.

First is what I like to call…

Apple Pie Oatmeal

1/3 cup oats

2/3 cup water

Pinch of salt

1/2 apple chopped

A bunch of cinnamon (1/2 tsp or more)

A pinch of nutmeg (or 1/4 tsp)

A few drops of vanilla

1 tsp brown sugar

I mix the oats, water and half of the chopped apple (so half of the half of the apple ;)), cinnamon, nutmeg, brown sugar and salt and throw it in the microwave for a good three minutes. As that is heating I saute up the rest of the apple. Once the oatmeal is done (sometimes I have to add a bit more water and heat a little longer), I put the apples on top. I then like to pour on some cold, unsweetened, original almond milk (whole foods brand is by far my favorite)

Not the most appetizing thing but seriously delicious…

IMG_2073

My next favorite breakfast is so simple that I am kind of embarrased that I am so excited about it but I love it none the less and it really speaks to my indecisive nature. Yogurt n’ toast…or yogurt a la toast to make it sound more classy.

I have been buying plain, non-fat Chobani yogurt and mixing in strawberry jelly. I love the flavors but this cuts back on the sugar a bit. I then add some slivered almonds and bananas. OK now the next part is the toast. Of course, because I am indecisive I have been doing half peanut butter and half almond butter with a bit of honey (hey if you got it all why not have it all right?) But what I have found that I LOVE is BUCKWHEAT. I had had a small bag of buckwheat in the cabinet forever and I finally figured out you can just eat it raw. I sprinkled some on my toast and it adds some more crunch for an awesome texture making boring old toast not so boring anymore. (It’s the little things in life…)

IMG_2099

Whilst on my breakfast kick, I decided I needed to make french toast. As I was making it I was thinking about how much I love eggs and toast and at that point I realized that french toast is just another version of that…no wonder I like it.

My family was always a french toast kind of family. I know that pancakes are usually the weekend breakfast of choice, but this is what we did. My mom would cut each slice in half and I would eat one with cinnamon and sugar and then other with syrup (and sometime another with powdered sugar).

Sometimes you just have to take a trip down memory lane. It is amazing how a smell can take you right back to your childhood.

IMG_2113

Now if only all the good cartoons were still on….

Looney Toons, Hey Arnold, Rugrats, Doug………………what happened to you?

What was your favorite childhood breakfast?

Have a cartoon you miss like crazy?

No matter where I go the theme song that is ALWAYS stuck in my head is Doug…I have absolutely no idea why.

Leave a Reply

