Saturday Spotlight

I had to pick up some milk and a few things to make some banana cream pie for my dad’s birthday the other day. It was getting close to lunch time and I was at Trader Joe’s so I thought I would go for the “semi-homemade” approach (oh Sandra Lee). I grabbed their Spicy Ranchero Egg White Salad and I loved it.

Usually the thought of cold egg whites is not super appetizing to me. (Yum…rubbery, flavorless protein) I mean, egg salads need the yolk, but honestly you don’t really notice that they are missing based on flavor, which is awesome. I mean, I wouldn’t oppose to a few yolks solely for that added creaminess, but this has a nice spice kick (but not overbearing) and I would definitely recommend it!

Image

I enjoyed it on Ezekiel bread,with sprouts, tomato and red onion, yum.

The next day I added it to a salad which was awesome!

ImageWith red bell pepper, tomato, red onion and my favorite tortilla with hummus. Oh ya! The egg salad comes with a lot of sauce which ended up acting as my salad dressing.

I will have to look at the ingredients and try to re create it myself (and maybe add in a few yokes!)

Leave a Reply

